Two on Tuesday

Downton Abbey – I picked up on the Saturday after Thanksgiving Season 1 of Downton Abbey (season 5 starts Jan 4th). I have heard so many good things about this show but I of course am late to the party and you can’t find reruns or watch past season on Netflix (if anyone does know where you can find old episodes please let me know). And oh my were they right. I only watched the first episode (while working out on the elliptical – go me!) but I am pretty sure this will become another favorite show.  Especially after our trip out to NY last year to see my sister. We went to the Vanderbilt Mansion. I have always been so fascinated by the older generation eras – especially the 20s. Fashion, fancy dinner parties, unique and proper vocabulary (I think we should still address people as Mr. and Mrs., and their extremely elegant homes. The first episode seems to show a small glimpse of all of that. I hope I can find the remaining seasons without having to buy every season on DVDs – but then I guess I can re-watch them too :). I can’t imagine taking more TV on right now when I am so busy but if a new show gets my butt downstairs and working out for 50 minutes a day – I will take it. I need to do something. The cold winter air is coming in and that usually means times for me to hibernate for the next 3 months – except my hibernate involves tons of food and DVR rather than starving the fat off myself lol.

– Season 1 recap from pbs.org: The Downton Abbey estate stands a splendid example of confidence and mettle, its family enduring for generations and its staff a well-oiled machine of propriety. But change is afoot at Downton — change far surpassing the new electric lights and telephone. A crisis of inheritance threatens to displace the resident Crawley family, in spite of the best efforts of the noble and compassionate Earl, Robert Crawley; his American heiress wife, Cora; his comically implacable, opinionated mother, Violet; and his beautiful, eldest daughter, Mary, intent on charting her own course. Reluctantly, the family is forced to welcome its heir apparent, the self-made and proudly modern Matthew Crawley, himself none too happy about the new arrangements. As Matthew’s bristly relationship with Mary begins to crackle with electricity, hope for the future of Downton’s dynasty takes shape. But when petty jealousies and ambitions grow among the family and the staff, scheming and secrets — both delicious and dangerous — threaten to derail the scramble to preserve Downton Abbey. Created and written by Oscar-winner Julian Fellowes (Gosford Park), Downton Abbey offers a spot-on portrait of a vanishing way of life.

Arm Knitting – I saw a lot of this when I was looking for DIY Christmas presents this year. I am very very intrigued by how this works yet don’t know if my fingers/brain could actually make it look presentable. I was never able to rub my belly/pat my head at the same time so not sure how well this would go right arm/left arm etc …. I might give it a go (in all my free time) just to see what happens – I think they would be cute gifts for next year but I better start now if I really want to finish them in time.

 

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

